Courage to Change

Courage is not so much feeling brave while doing something heroic as doing what you have to do even though you are terrified.  This is a reader comment on a story of true courage in a dramatic escape from domestic violence from fellow blogger, Cathy’s Voice Now.  I commend it to all readers!   

It is presently the time in the Jewish calendar known as the Counting of the Omer.  It’s the time between Passover, when Jews were freed from bondage in Egypt, to Sinai, when they received the Ten Commandments.  Lyrically described as a journey from the sea of freedom to the mountain of responsibility, it reminds us that freedom and responsibility go together.  Cathy ends her post with the perfect poem to punctuate this reality, so I share it here.   

Autobiography In Five Short Chapters by Portia Nelson

Chapter One
I walk down the street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk
I fall in.
I am lost … I am helpless.
It isn’t my fault.
It takes me forever to find a way out.

Chapter Two
I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I pretend I don’t see it.
I fall in again.
I can’t believe I am in the same place
but, it isn’t my fault.
It still takes a long time to get out.

Chapter Three
I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I see it is there.
I still fall in … it’s a habit.
My eyes are open
I know where I am.
It is my fault.
I get out immediately.

Chapter Four
I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I walk around it.

Chapter Five
I walk down another street.

Join the conversation.  Is there a hole in your sidewalk calling you to life change?

Copyright 2012 Stephanie Walker All rights reserved. Visit www.AcrossTraditions.com.

One thought on “Courage to Change

  1. Pingback: Haven’t I Changed Enough? | Across Traditions Blog

Leave a Reply

